Rail Users Ireland Forum

Go Back   Rail Users Ireland Forum > Irish Rail Customer Service Issues > General Irish Rail Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unread 09-08-2009, 19:37   #1
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default New directional signage at connolly station

So new signage has gone up at connolly station to help people find their platform ! Apparently alot of people ask where to get to the maynooth train , drogheda dundalk train , gorey train and DART

Anyway the new signage directs people to the DART platforms of 4,5,6 and 7 and the enterprise platforms of 1,2 and 3.

Yep should help people

Last edited by ThomasJ : 09-08-2009 at 19:46.
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-2009, 17:56   #2
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

They are putting in more information screens to tell people what platform their train is on.
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 10:58   #3
Charlie Hungerford
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJ View Post
Yep should help people
I think some of the signage works quite well but some of it seems to have been designed by someone who has never been near Connolly.

For instance, they've installed floor markers to help guide passengers to the right platform. It's a good idea.

But the floor marker for platforms 1, 2 and 3 are located at the entrance to platform 1/2, suggesting that it you walk far enough down platform 1/2, you'll get to platform 3.

This is possible only by crossing the railway track on foot [not a good idea] or getting an Enterprise service to Drogheda and finding a train there that will terminate at platform 3.
Charlie Hungerford is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 11:40   #4
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Default

I think what IE should have done is the new blur signage with 5, 6 & 7 is put under them 5 Gorey/Bray

6 to bray

7 maynooth, drogheda, dundalk
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 12:16   #5
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

You can't do that its routine to find trains to Howth/Malahide/Drogheda on platform 6. Most trains terminating in Pearse use 5. I've been on trains to Bray off 7 a few times
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 12:18   #6
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSW View Post
I think what IE should have done is the new blur signage with 5, 6 & 7 is put under them 5 Gorey/Bray

6 to bray

7 maynooth, drogheda, dundalk
agreed keith if you look at the new signage [they could have updated it since last night ] there is not one mention of the words commuter or intercity its dart or enterprise.

Having said that people probably wont know the difference im sick of people saying "i am getting the dart to maynooth " when you tell people its not a dart they say ah sure there is no difference ?

Even the operator have got this wrong and what darts go to or from platform 4? [unless there is something they are not telling us ]

Last edited by ThomasJ : 12-08-2009 at 12:29.
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 12:31   #7
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor View Post
They are putting in more information screens to tell people what platform their train is on.
most of them were up and running last night
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 12:42   #8
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Gleeson View Post
I've been on trains to Bray off 7 a few times
that shouldnt be happening. Last week a last minute switch with a lack of announcement had a southbound commuter in seven and a northbound in six with the end result being a couple of drogheda passengers on the wrong train southbound i met them at tara street having to wait nearly an hour on the next train. They were not happy
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 13:52   #9
Charlie Hungerford
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJ View Post
Even the operator have got this wrong and what darts go to or from platform 4? [unless there is something they are not telling us ]
Platform 4 is fully electrified - it's probably prudent to erect signage that allows for the possibility of future northbound Dart departures from that platform.
Charlie Hungerford is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 13:58   #10
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

Fixed service branded signage is only going to cause trouble when everything moves around.

Enterprise services are cleared for all 7 platforms as are Sligo services

What you want to do is go towards the current airport model of a colour tv screen with the service details and service logo/name clearly shown. The old electro mechanical board in Connolly could handle that and was way easier to read than the current one
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 14:48   #11
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Gleeson View Post
Fixed service branded signage is only going to cause trouble when everything moves around.
Good point, Making the blue signage with just the platform numbers was probably the best outcome.

Gorey/Rosslare trains always departs from platform 5 with the odd exception.

Dart services to Howth will be either 6 or 7

Dart services to Bray/Greystones 5 or 6. Going to Bray/Greystones from platform 7 I dont think I have read or heard anything like that.

Maynooth/Longford and Drogheda/Dundalk will be either 6 or 7.
Although there is trains going to Maynooth/Longford/Drogheda maybe Dundalk from platforms 4 and 3.

If IE put their heads together they should figure out the signage. But I think thats unlikely ...
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 13-08-2009, 06:28   #12
Thomas Ralph
IT Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenwich, London
Posts: 1,860
Default

Never say never. A southbound DART would go into plat. 7 if 5 and 6 were occupied, say by commuter trains.
Thomas Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 13-08-2009, 22:28   #13
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJ View Post
Even the operator have got this wrong and what darts go to or from platform 4? [unless there is something they are not telling us ]
If a DART is coming back from Malahide/ Hoath and going out of service, it might stop at platform 4. I've only ever been on one though.
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22-08-2009, 03:40   #14
luasifer
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 37
Default

I was in Connolly Station today and noticed the new signage etc. I also noticed that on all the doors coming into the station from the lower level (on both IFSC and Amiens Street sides) it says "Connolly Staion". This is surely a huge oversight and whoever put this text on the glass doors should have noticed it
luasifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22-08-2009, 09:37   #15
Thomas Ralph
IT Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenwich, London
Posts: 1,860
Default

And the Enterprise isn't going to see platform 2 now for several weeks.
Thomas Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22-08-2009, 12:50   #16
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Ralph View Post
And the Enterprise isn't going to see platform 2 now for several weeks.
make that several months, 3 months at least
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.